No pain, no gain!

TGIF ! Happy Friday to you all 🙂 Today I will be continuing with the workout program that I have been doing for the last 4 days. Today will be hamstring/deadlift day! I am now hitting legs twice a week– why, you may ask? Because my legs are probably the weakest part of my body/ hardest part to build for me. And when something is weak or you don’t like doing it, you should do it more! Hey, what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger and a little pain now will beget big gains later. 😉

Learn to love the pain! ♥ Here’s the workout for today, plus I may add in a few extras if I still feel good. The deadlifts are making me a little nervous because the last time I attempted to do them things didn’t go so well. I decided my body just wasn’t meant for deadlifts because my arms just didn’t seem to be long enough. BUT I will be giving it my best shot. I want to do the deadlifts–they’re a great workout for multiple muscles!

Today’s motivational quote:

“The good Lord gave you a body that can stand most anything. It’s your mind you have to convince.” – Vince Lombardi

Deadlift and Hamstrings
Deadlift and Hamstrings
Exercise Sets Reps
Deadlift – Power 2-4 3 to 5
Romanian Deadlift – Muscle 3-4 6 to 12
Leg Curl  – Muscle 3-4 6 to 12
Leg Curl – Burn 1 40
6 thoughts on “No pain, no gain!

  1. jthealthyfit says:

    Yes, the exercise you stink at the most, do the most, agreed! Question/s: how much weight are you doing for the deadlifts? And are you using a hex bar or straight bar?

    • danielleimp says:

      True stuff! .. Well, I haven’t done them in a while, so I had to guess the weight today. I did 20’s on each side of straight bar. I chose that weight because I was only doing 5 reps max for 2-4 sets. My form suffered a little bit from the weight, and I probably should have dropped down to keep better form. I’ll probably knock it down to 15 on each side next time to keep better form!

      • jthealthyfit says:

        Yeah, 85 lbs, that’s a pretty good amount for not having done them in a while. And yes, that’s critical, never sacrifice your form. Proper form is always essential! Where is your form suffering the most?

      • danielleimp says:

        Yeah, thats true. I’m not even really sure. I guess I should lead more with my head when coming up, but when the weights heavier, I don’t tend to do that as well.

  2. jthealthyfit says:

    This video does a good job demonstrating proper form, with the basic deadlift and straight legged deadlift as well especially if you’re curious or unsure where your form may be in question. Good luck!

    • danielleimp says:

      Awesome! thank you! I definitely think I was doing them correctly. My mid to upper back is pretty sore today, but not my lower back! So, I’m thinking I did well 🙂

Leave a Reply

