Officially Dead

This morning I meandered into the gym to tackle my usual morning workout. This includes: 

  • a 2 mile warm-up
  •  a lifting session  (Today was Leg Day!–See bottom of post for full workout.),
  • and a 2 mile cool down.

However, half way through my lifting, one of the trainers at the gym approached me and reminded me about our session later in the day. He had come up to me the day before, noticing how hard I push myself in the gym, and suggested I try out a free training session. Free?! Sign me up!

So, I finished my leg workout, but only did a half mile cool down. I ran home, ate a bowl of oatmeal and a protein shake, and headed back to the gym. —BAD DECISION. [By bad I mean good 😉 ] I thought, “Oh, this will be so easy. He doesn’t even use equipment. The girls he trains just hop around a little bit.Boy oh boy was I mistaken!

It was a full body circuit, and my chest and shoulders and biceps were already sore from previous workouts during the week. The workout combined high intensity interval training and weights–a deadly combo! For a half hour I constantly moved from ladders, pull-ups, push ups, burpees, hell raisers, squats, lateral jumps, weighted burpees, dips, to core workouts. —just to name a few 😉  What a workout! All of my muscles were definitely burning. The trainer said I was in great shape, but I didn’t feel like I was in shape at all during that workout. It was a challenge, which I love. No pain, no gain!

Have any of you ever trained with a trainer at the gym? Incorporated HIIT into your weight lifting routine? Attempted two intense workouts in one day?!

Week 1 – Quads, Hamstrings and Calves Workout
Quads
Exercise Sets Rep Goal
Squat 4 5-7
Front Squat 4 5-7
Leg Press 4 5-7
Hamstrings
Exercise Sets Rep Goal
Stiff Leg Deadlift 4 5-7
Wide Stride Bulgarian Split Squat 4 5-7
Calves
Exercise Sets Rep Goal
Standing Calf Raise 4 20
Seated Calf Raise 4 20

Sweaty Girl Swag !?

Leave a Reply

