Polar Heart Rate Monitor

I woke up excited to workout this morning. —well more excited than usual anyway. I made a purchase over the weekend that I was dying to try out from the moment I purchased it. I purchased a polar heart rate monitor. I’m pretty sure I bought the FT4 model. Little did I know, it also came with a chest strap. I had never heard of the chest strap part of the heart rate monitors before, but the sales associate at Dick’s Sporting Goods informed me that chest straps allowed the monitor to be more accurate?

So, I strapped up this morning and went to work in the gym. I did my usual warm up/cool down of 2 mile sessions on the stair-master, making a total of four miles. The first two miles went by slow. I usually like to do faster intervals –basically running up the steps and yes people stare at me like I’m insane when I do this, and thats because I am insane. (Train insane or remain the same 😉 ) However, today I could not do my intervals in my warm up session because I ran into gym acquaintances who wanted to talk on the stair-masters surrounding mine. I willingly obliged, not wanting to be rude, plus talking makes the workout go by much faster sometimes.

I was shocked/appalled to see my heart rate did not go over 145 beats per minute during this session. The monitor also displayed my calories. It claimed I burned about 100 calories in the session of two miles. The machine boasted that I burned almost double that number.

As I continued my workout, moving onto the weights part of my session, I noticed my heart rate did not exceed about 112 beat per minute at the most. It also dropped down to about 90 at times. This was disappointing to me, but I suppose its expected with anaerobic exercise. I continued to burn calories during this session also.

This is the new workout regime I’m on: http://www.muscleandstrength.com/workouts/10-week-mass-building-program.html (I am attempting to gain weight, muscle wise that is.)

Finally, I finished my workout with another brutal round of the stair-master. I was able to do my HIIT ! This is where I saw the highest spike in my heart rate and the most calories burned. My heart rate almost reached my max of 170. It hit about 168 at the most. I was hauling butt on that machine!

All toll I burned a total of 467 calories according to the polar heart monitor, and the total duration of my workout was 2 hours. <— What?!!? I need to do less talking and more working out. My workout should only take an hour to an hour and a half max. *Sigh* the troubles of being popular at the gym :p

Does anyone else own a heart rate monitor? Do they all have chest straps? –It was kind of annoying! How accurate do you think they are?

Leave a Reply

